The Choices We Make

It has been a while since I’ve last posted anything in this blog. Honestly, my work and lifestyle has taken over most of my free time so I no longer have the luxury to spend precious minutes writing about nothing. Fyi this entry is written as I’m sitting in an airplane on the way to work… such is my hectic schedule these days.

Another hindrance towards me writing to my hearts content is the confidentiality & privacy factor which I have to increasingly bear with due to my line of work. Yes, it is becoming a major hindrance. Gone are the times when I can write about anything which comes to mind. Or when I wish to express my excitement or sadness about a particular event or subject. These days I have to think twice about everything.

This situation is what is curbing my storytelling. Making azlano 2.0 almost a ghost town with fewer and fewer updates as time goes by. I guess that’s the effect of being in my profession. Don’t get me wrong, I love what I do and I wouldn’t trade it for anything (yet). But sometimes I feel I have to act more times than I get to be me.

I used to write a lot but now I don’t. I used to speak publicly out loud in giving out my ideas but now I have to get permission. I also used to just go to any event I want but now it has to be justified. Boxed-in is the word I’d use now to aptly describe my feelings.

How far would you go to liberate yourself from the confines of bureaucracy and corporate expectations? Would you trade everything that you hold dear to be able to regain your freedom? Or do you succumb and meander slowly whilst suppressing your beliefs? Hard questions indeed.

Posted over-the-air from WordPress for Android.

Leave a Reply

