Your Internet Speed

Now here’s a splendid site for you to test the upload and download speed of your broadband Internet connection. I’ve used a number of these free Web-based sites but so far none is able to match the ease of use of this. The graphical user interface is also very cool.

Check it out! -> Speedtest

As a comparisson, this is what I get from my home WiFi network…

As you can see my home Internet connection sucks big time.
As you can see my home Internet connection sucks big time.

…whilst this is what I get from my office LAN…

Compared to my home network, the speed is great.
Compared to my home network, the speed is great.

Hmm, now I’m seriously considering ditching Jaring Wireless for Celcom Broadband!

4 thoughts on “Your Internet Speed

  1. Ahh, speedtest. That’s the oni connection speed tester that I know.

    Well, it varies, really. Maybe people are busier when u tested ur home’s broadband. 21 Dec is just a few days away from X’mas (which is today 😀 ), ppl could be busy sending emels, facebooking ard, play dota, etcetc.

    And of cuz cannot lawan office LAN… brapa byk user je compared ngan kat rumah nye 🙂 I mean, maybe ur office LAN got like a few hundred users, but Jaring had to serve how many tens or hundreds of thousands of user all over Msia…. unless many ppl go balik kampung or sumthing during festivals.

    Like during raya aidilfitri last October, I was dl-ing animes n files at speeds I’ll nvr achieve on normal days!!

  2. tokmoh -> the problem with Wireless is that it is a shared signal, and the user is one in a large pool of users. therefore, as you rightfully commented, the more people go online at the same time then the slower the speed becomes.

  3. Paul Tan -> thanks for the info Paul. i guess almost everything goes back to TM so perhaps i should just stick with Jaring… hohum.

Leave a Reply

