Malaysia’s Jalur Gemilang

This year Malaysia celebrates her 50th anniversary with pomp and splendour.

Jalur Gemilang

As I peer outside my house windows I see a few houses with the Malaysian national flag being positioned outside. Some are placed at an angle while others are in the traditional vertical position. It brings a smile to me whenever I see such things. I think the reason is obvious.

Whatever we may feel inside about how this country is being led, how our different races are being treated, how we seem to put less importance to the preservation of our environment, or to a lesser extend how we take care of our toilets (?!), we simply must take pride of being Malaysian. Therefore taking pride in our Jalur Gemilang.

The act of displaying the national flag on our cars, bikes, houses or even offices is the act of acknowledging this appreciation. Being proud of something greater than ourselves.

A few years ago I had the opportunity to visit New York City and Detriot which coincided with the US Memorial Day weekend. You really should see how the Star Spangled Banner is treated everywhere there’s a population, regardless if you’re in the outskirts of Holland, Michigan or right in multicultural Manhattan. Displayed in front of houses, lawns, buildings, parks, etc. Why can’t we do the same? Is it really so difficult?

To all Malaysians wherever you are on this Planet, do your bit to celebrate this momentous event. It really isn’t difficult. Isn’t it obvious?

 *azlano via Fujitsu T4020*

5 thoughts on “Malaysia’s Jalur Gemilang

  1. That’s the half full point of view.

    The half empty point of view is such: everybody displays the flag, our Imperious Leaders (hehehehe, a BSG reference) wil look at that and say “Wow! The people are really feeling good about this country! Looks like we’re doing such an excellent job that the people are celebrating as such! Let’s continue our corrupt and nepotismic ways since the people are oblivious to it!”

    I for one am happy that we’ve reached such a milestone. But there’s no point in celebrating a 50th birthday if the country’s on a downward spiral in terms of economy, social and political. I’m not saying everyone shouldn’t fly the flag. I’m just saying I wont.

  2. Are you sure its because ‘we simply must take pride of being Malaysian’, and ‘the act of acknowledging this appreciation’?

    Maybe to some extend its due to ‘habit’ & ‘tradition’ (e.g. “don’t know why lah, but my house/shop have always displayed the flag since my grandfather’s time”), ‘misplaced patriotism’ (e.g. “My father/grandfather/uncle used to be in the army so we always display the national flag”), or lately, out of ‘fear’ (e.g. Government ‘ordering’ people to display flag, or else…)

    This entry last year in the Star Blog reverberates how I, and many of my friends feel:

    PATRIOTISM ISN’T JUST ABOUT FLYING OUR FLAG

    MERDEKA Day is drawing near but I have yet to get a national flag to hang outside my home and restaurant. I have thought about buying a few to show my loyalty and patriotism, but I have not bought any yet.

    I don’t want to put one up just for show.

    When I was younger, I did not understand what Merdeka was all about. To me, it was a day when my parents did not have to go to work and best of all, school was closed for the day. I also got to watch the parade on TV and the special Merdeka programmes.

    Today, I am 50 and I know what Merdeka is all about. But why am I not rushing out to fly the flag and celebrate our 49 years of Independence? I guess it is because so much has to be said about our Merdeka celebrations, especially when it comes to displaying the national flag outside our homes or place of work.

    There is so little respect when it comes to our national flag. Torn, tattered, dirty flags have been seen around town.

    To me, our national flag should always be respected as a symbol of the nation and not be used as a wedding outfit, cap or T-shirt. I understand that some people need to draw attention to their patriotism but some have gone overboard with what they do with it.

    At the end of the day, true respect for the flag is gone. It has become a piece of material that holds only seasonal interest.

    I truly feel that I do not need to buy a flag just to have one around for a time, and then forget why it is there in the first place.

    In the eyes of society today, though, it is commonly held that you should just go out and buy a flag to hang outside the house or place of work so that no one can say that you are not patriotic.

    Our flag represents our country. It means a lot to us and it must be flown because we are proud of it. It is a symbol of dedication, patriotism, loyalty and appreciation for the independence of the country.

  3. It’s interesting to see what happens when one posts something ‘controversial’ like patriotism!

    Everyone is indeed entitled to his or her opinion so I won’t get into a fit over strong comments made.

    I, for one, feel strongly about how we treat our freedom, value our nation and treat our flag. My parent’s never flew flags on our family home nor did they drill our minds to become patriots. But I’ve been brought up to appreciate the efforts done by our elders, understand the hardships they experienced during the war and the danger of being complacent.

    The Jalur Gemilang waves proudly in front of my home every August. I put it there because I want to. Because I am proud to be Malaysian. Period.

  4. I apologise if you felt that my comment was directed at you. It wasn’t.

    I’m just speaking in general about why some people fly the national flag during Merdeka month.

    I’m proud to be Malaysian too, but unfortunately Malaysia don’t seem to be very proud to have me as a citizen. Illegal immigrants have more rights and are accorded more previleges and benefits then me and ‘my kind’…

  5. If you’re in the upper echelon of the country’s leadership, there’s definitely cause to celebrate. More projects, more APs, more of the taxpayers’ money coming into your pocket which means bigger houses (some abroad even), more cars, more women etc. What’s there not to celebrate? For us, the hardworking citizens not in such company, who are told to conserve what you spend, who are told to just put up with the high prices of petrol and necessary items, celebration would be the last thing on our mind.

Leave a Reply

